Skip to content
Welcome to our new forum! All existing NW Cryobank forum users will need to reset their passwords. Click forgot password and enter your email address to receive the link. Email us at info@nwcryobank.com with any questions.
NW Cryobank community boards and sibling connect groups will no longer be available after December 20th, 2023.
Options

Laws in New York state

Sparkle1Sparkle1 Posts: 1
edited November -1 in Trying to Conceive
Hi everyone, I'm new here and I was wondering if there are any other New York residents in this community. I wanted to see how ordering vials worked so I just went through a few steps in the process and I came upon a screen that specifically asked if I'm a resident of New York or Georgia because it appears that their laws are slightly different in terms of receiving donor sperm and self inseminating. Does anyone happen to know if all artificial insemination including ICI legally needs to be performed by a physician in New York state? Like I said I'm really new at this and it's been extremely frustrating so far and that was just one more possible bump in the road that discouraged me. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated. I'm doing this all by myself.

Comments

• Options
    Leo1227Leo1227 Posts: 5
    edited November -1
    I don't know exactly what the laws are but I think it has more to do with being under a physician's care and having them ok it vs .them having to do it. I am using an RE so didn't look into it further but they did have to sign a form and send back to NW. I'm in Georgia.
  • Options
    tattoofan24tattoofan24 Posts: 9
    edited November -1
    @Sparkle1 - Hi! I am also in NYS and just ordered to receive ICI vials at home with no problem. That being said, I previously was under the care of a RE and have all of that information still on my account, so that might have made the difference.