Skip to content
Welcome to our new forum! All existing NW Cryobank forum users will need to reset their passwords. Click forgot password and enter your email address to receive the link. Email us at info@nwcryobank.com with any questions.
NW Cryobank community boards and sibling connect groups will no longer be available after December 20th, 2023.
Options

PCOS - What would you do?

emandessemandess Posts: 117
edited November -1 in Trying to Conceive
Hi everyone,

I have PCOS and I went to the ob/gyn today because I've been bleeding for an abnormal amount of time and I wanted to get it regulated and also talk about my odds of conception. It's my first time at this ob since I moved to this town. I was pleased that her practice is GLBT friendly and liked her pretty well. I have a very thick uterine lining, which is something that can happen with PCOS apparently. She did a biopsy to be sure that it wasn't cancerous. She said her approach to my current bleeding depends on my goals. I told her I was ready to TTC now and asked if they did IUIs in their office. She said no ob/gyn in this town does IUIs but it's fine because she can send me to a doctor who does (he is a RE) and she refers all IUI patients to him. She said he would probably want to start me on hormones/meds/whatever to get me ovulating properly. She said she'd call me next week with the results of the biopsy and we'll plan more then.

There is only one fertility center/ RE office in my town, and it has VERY mixed reviews from what I can tell. That's where the dr. she wants to refer me to works. If I lived in a different place with more options, I would never consider going there. But then again, IUI isn't nearly as complicated as IVF, so maybe my opinion of this place doesn't matter that much.