Skip to content
Welcome to our new forum! All existing NW Cryobank forum users will need to reset their passwords. Click forgot password and enter your email address to receive the link. Email us at info@nwcryobank.com with any questions.
NW Cryobank community boards and sibling connect groups will no longer be available after December 20th, 2023.
Options

OT: Rosetta Stone

ShannyShanny Posts: 2,456
edited November -1 in Parenting and Life
Anyone used it? Love it? hate it? Worth it?
image_zps64579b54.png

Comments

• Options
    RedHeatherRedHeather Posts: 600 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I used it for Arabic before taking an Arabic course in Morocco. I did well enough on my placement test to skip the absolute beginner level of the course, so I took that as a sign that the Rosetta Stone program was reasonably good. I haven't stuck with it, though, and now I'm thinking of starting over from the beginning if my motivation ever comes back.

Arabic is HARD because of the completely different alphabet, though. The reading and "writing" (typing) sections kicked my butt. It should be easier to progress in a language that uses the Western alphabet. I did also notice that the speech recognition didn't seem great. Sometimes I'd say something totally wrong and it would count it as right ... other times, I felt I was saying it correctly and it would count it as wrong. I didn't take advantage of the tutoring option, though -- that would probably help some with learning proper pronunciation.
  • Options
    b&kmakebabiesb&kmakebabies Posts: 818
    edited November -1
    I don't have the program, but if you download the Cartwheel app from Target on your phone they have 50% off if you buy the program in stores through August 1.
    Cnc9m5.png

TTC from 06/2015...Baby M born 11/24/16!
  • Options
    b&kmakebabiesb&kmakebabies Posts: 818
    edited November -1