Skip to content
Welcome to our new forum! All existing NW Cryobank forum users will need to reset their passwords. Click forgot password and enter your email address to receive the link. Email us at info@nwcryobank.com with any questions.
NW Cryobank community boards and sibling connect groups will no longer be available after December 20th, 2023.
Options

Ovulation kit

JamesJean23JamesJean23 Posts: 82
edited November -1 in Trying to Conceive
Hello,

I have been tracking my cycles, and ovulation for a couple months now, we are planning to try for baby #2 in January. This month I bought the Clear blue ovulation predictor and did not realize it was the advanced one.
The one i used before was two options - no face or smiley face, this one gives 3 no face, flashing smiley and regular smiley.

My question is next month when we plan to inseminate, should I go with the flashing smiley which detects the LH surge or the regular smiley which means peak.

give a girl 3 options and she gets confused, haha. Any one use these?Thanks!!

Comments

• Options
    2texasmoms2texasmoms Posts: 299 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    When I've used the ClearBlue Advanced, I've waited till about 24 hours after a solid smiley. I believe flashing actually detects a rise in estrogen, and solid smiley is the LH surge.

But, I really don't like the ClearBlues, in general! For me, I started using them on the recommended date, detected ovulation early, then detected it again a few days later, when it was supposed to be happening! I have much more success relying on First Response OPKs, and both BFP cycles that's what I've used. My sense is that people who have success with the ClearBlue Advanced use it for months on end, and it gets to know your body's unique hormonal cycle.

Just my two cents! Wishing you lots of baby dust for January! :)
  • Options
    New-mama?New-mama? Posts: 593
    edited November -1